Search Our Pro Wrestling Articles and News

Thursday, December 13, 2007

Wrestlers of the Year

One of the most appreciated awards a professional wrestler can obtain stands in Pro Wrestling Illustrated (PWI) Wrestler of the Year. There are a lot of legends here that received the award and I thought it would be interesting to know who they were. Ric Flair won 6 titles and was a runner up for two more. Hulk Hogan won three titles and was a runner up for 4 more. Bret The Hitman Hart never won the award but was a runner up twice. One of my favorite wrestlers ever, Sting, won the big prize as well in 1990. Stone Cold Steve Austin was the wrestler of the year three times and was a runner up once more. In 2005 we saw Batista win the award, with John Cena coming second while in 2006 we saw John Cena winning while Samoa Joe was second and Batista was not even in the first 4. Other famous winners of PWI's Wrestler of the Year award include Kurt Angle, Chris Benoit, Brock Lesnar, The Rock, Lex Luger, Big Show (known as The Giant at that point in time), Kevin Nash (known as Diesel at that time), Vader, The Macho Man Randy Savage, Harley Race, Bob Backlund, Dusty Rhodes, Terry Funk, Mr. Wrestling II, Bruno Sammartino, Jack Brisco and Pedro Morales. The Undertaker never won it and will probably never win it although he did come third and fourth in two years. Nevertheless, it will be interesting to see who will win in 2007. John Cena is kind of out of the question, in TNA we could say Kurt Angle and Sting and in the WWE I have no idea. A lot of injuries and back and forth matches. We'll just have to wait and see!

No comments: